CERC appoints Jishnu Baruah as a new chairman

01 Mar 2023

As the new Chairman of the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC), India's primary power sector regulator, Jishnu Baruah took the oath of office. Jishnu Baruah was sworn in as the new CERC Chairman at Shram Shakti Bhavan by Union Minister for Electricity, New and Renewable Energy RK Singh.

Barua is a retired Indian Administrative Service (Retd. IAS) official from the Assam-Meghalaya cadre. He was a member of the 1988 batch. He served as the Chief Secretary of Assam from August 2022 until his retirement. He held a number of positions in the Assam and Central Governments before being appointed as the State's Chief Secretary. After retiring, Barua served as the Assam Power Distribution Company Limited's Chairperson. Jishnu Barua has a Master of Philosophy in Defence and Strategic Studies, a Postgraduate degree in History, and a Graduate degree in Philosophy.

With this, Barua has succeeded PK Pujari, whose extended tenure in the Commission got over in June 2022.

After speaking with the new CERC Chairperson, Singh congratulated Baura on the excellent work he did as CEO of Assam Power Distribution Company Ltd. He also stated that the country's power system has improved significantly in recent years. According to him, the available capacity is sufficient to meet the demand for electricity. However, because the economy is expanding at about 7% per year and electricity demand is increasing at 10% per year, the power system must be prepared to meet this rising demand for the next ten to fifteen years. Increased corporate transparency and ease of doing business, according to the Union Minister, have increased investments in the power sector.

The CERC of the Central Government is a statutory body. It is in charge of regulating and setting rates for interstate electricity transmission, as well as granting licences to those who want to act as electricity traders and transmission licensees for interstate operations.

See also:
Santosh Kumar Yadav appointed NHAI chief; other key appointments
Anil Kumar Lahoti next Railway Board Chairman, CEO.

Related Stories