Power Update

Punjab shuts 10 thermal plants

November 2014
In an attempt to conserve coal, four more units of the state-run thermal plants were forcibly closed thus, leaving only four of the total 14 thermal units operational. This initiative was undertaken by Punjab after major suppliers cut down supplies. However, the Punjab State Power Corporation insisted that the coal crisis was not responsible for the plants shutting down. Instead, it was due to reduced demand. Currently, only one of the six units is producing power at Ropar, two of the four units are operational at Bathinda and only one of the four units is working at Lehra Mohabbat.

Contact: Punjab State Power Corporation.
Website: www.pspcl.in

Chat With Us!