Odisha govt to widen 174.5 km Biju Expressway into four lane

Odisha govt to widen 174.5 km Biju Expressway into four lane

On Wednesday, the Odisha government approved the four-laning of the 174.5 km Biju Expressway that runs through Kalahandi and Nuapada, boosting connectivity, trade, and industrial activity in two of the state's ten aspirational districts that have remained economically backward.

Odisha Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mahapatra told the media that the project will be developed in Engineering, Procurement, and Construction (EPC) mode as a four-lane carriageway, with 17 minor bridges and eight major bridges.

The Biju Expressway (Ghatipada-Sinapali) in the Nuapada district will be 104.65 km long, with six minor and major bridges. A 69.85 km stretch of the Biju Expressway (Sinapali-Dharmagarh-Ampani) will pass through the Kalahandi district, with 11 minor and two major bridges being built. This will not only improve connectivity in Western Odisha but also give the region a boost in terms of industrial growth and overall economic development.

The Narendra Modi government's Aspirational Districts programme aimed to transform 115 backward districts in 28 states by combining central and state schemes. Sundargarh, Jharsuguda, Sambalpur, Bargarh, Nuapada, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, and Koraput are the other eight aspirational districts in Odisha.

A general administration department official said that Government schemes and welfare activities have grown in number over time, necessitating the posting of officers at different levels in addition to the existing scale.

Image Source

Also read: Double-tube four-lane tunnel on Srinagar-Jammu NH to open soon

Also read: Bengaluru-Mysuru 10 lane expressway to roll out till February 2022

Related Stories

Hi There!

Now get regular updates from CW Magazine on WhatsApp!

Click on link below, message us with a simple hi, and SAVE our number

You will have subscribed to our Construction News on Whatsapp! Enjoy

+91 86575 81178